Original: 2544

Robert E. Fyock, Sheriff, President

William J. Martin, President Judge

Bernie Smith, Commissioner Robert Bell, District Attorney

Sandy Kirkland, Treasurer, Vice President

Rodney Ruddock, Commissioner Chairman

David S. Frick, Commissioner, Secretary

## **Prison Board**

## Indiana County JaiECEVEL



Phone (724) 465-3930

Fax (724) 465-3937

TDD (724) 465-3805

825 Philadelphia Street Indiana, PA 15701-1795

July 27, 2006

David B. Farney, Assistant Counsel PA Department of Corrections Office of Chief Counsel 55 Utley Drive Camp Hill, PA 17011

Re: Proposed Rulemaking - 37 Pa. Code Ch. 95, County Correctional Institutions

Dear Mr. Farney:

On behalf of the Indiana County Prison Board, this letter is regarding the above referenced proposed rulemaking published in the June 24, 2006, edition of the <u>Pennsylvania Bulletin</u>. The Indiana County Prison Board joins with the County Commissioners Association, The Pennsylvania Sheriffs Association and other local officials to express our opposition to the proposed regulations.

The Indiana County Prison Board believes that pursuant to Title 61 of the Pennsylvania Code the sole authority to operate the county jail lies with the prison board or their home rule counterparts. These mandates without funding will place a significant burden on the taxpayers of the county.

The board is keenly aware of the importance of operational standards and endeavors to operate a safe and secure facility that does not place an undue tax burden on its citizens and it is for that reason we are in the design-development phase of a new county jail. The jail is being designed to meet national correctional design standards and will be operated to meet local needs and will be operated with the means of our local tax base. We take exception to the mandates that are being imposed in this proposed regulation that are more applicable to state prisons where inmates are confined for longer periods of time than those in the county jail.

Page 2 David B. Farney July 27, 2006

Comments raised by the County Commissioners Association are our concerns also. We ask that the Department of Corrections withdraw the regulations and begin again with input from those who are more familiar with county government, county jails, and county tax bases.

Sincerely,

Carol L. Wilson, Warden

Cc: The Honorable Stewart Greenleaf, Chairman

Senate Judiciary Committee

The Honorable Jay Costa, Minority Chairman Senate Judiciary Committee

The Honorable Dennis O'Brien, Chairman House Judiciary Committee

The Honorable Thomas Caltagirone, Minority Chairman House Judiciary Committee

Alvin C. Bush, Chairman Independent Regulatory Review Commission

Scott Schalles, Regulatory Analyst Independent Regulatory Review Commission

The Honorable Donald White, Senator Senate District 41

The Honorable David Reed, Representative Pennsylvania District 62

The Honorable Scott Conklin, Centre County Commissioner Chairman, CCAP Courts and Corrections Committee